Do you know any institution, organization or entity undertaking exceptional projects and programmes in the field of education for sustainable development?

Then nominate them for the UNESCO Japan Prize on Education for Sustainable Development 2021 where they stand a chance to win up to $50,000 cash prize in award and form a long term collaboration or partnership with UNESCO.

Application Deadline: April 30, 2021


Open the Table of Content Below

Click to see section


  • The three Laureates of the 2021 prize would receive an award of US $50,ooo each.
  • In addition, winners would be invited to join the ESD for 2030 Global Network (ESD Net) in order to establish long term collaboration with UNESCO beyond the award ceremony.


Eligible for the prize are institutions and organizations with a specific ESD project or programme that must:

  • Have been running for four years and currently ongoing
  • Present evidence of results and a high impact relatives to the invested resources
  • Contribute to one or more of the 5 priority action areas of the ESD for 2030 framework (I.e advancing policy, transforming learning and training environments, developing capacities of educators and trainers, mobilizing youth, acceleratjng sustainable solutions at local level.
  • Be Replicable and scalable.

Free Worksheet and Checklist

Here at Camberene, we go the extra mile to make sure you win. So we have designed a beautiful checklist to help you keep track of your progress and make sure you’re doing things correctly.

It’s 100% FREE

Hit the download button to get it in your inbox ASAP.

Application Instructions

UNESCO does not accept direct applications. All candidates have to be nominated by: 

  • The government of a UNESCO member state via their permanent delegation to UNESCO. They advise you to contact first your country’s National commission for UNESCO
  • An NGO or foundation in official partnership with UNESCO.

Nominations should be submitted in English or French, by midnight on 30 April 2021 (Paris time, UTC+1), via an online platform.

About the UNESCO Japan Prize on Education for Sustainable development

The UNESCO-Japan Prize on Education for sustainable development, funded by the Government of Japan, consists of three annual awards of USD 50,000 for each recipient. It was awarded for the first time by the Director-General of UNESCO in November 2015.

The Prize and award winners recognize the role of education in connecting the social, economic, cultural and environmental dimensions of sustainable development. It was established by the Executive Board of UNESCO at its 195th session within the framework of the Global Action Programme (GAP) on ESD and officially announced at the UNESCO World Conference on ESD (10-12 November 2014, Aichi-Nagoya, Japan).

Following the Executive Board’s decision 207 EX/10.III.B in November 2019, the Prize was renewed. In the renewed cycle, the Prize will be managed for a period of six years (2020-2025) and will be awarded once per biennium (i.e. 2021, 2023 and 2025).

Key Dates and Order of Program

The deadline for nomination is April 30th 2021

The three Prize winners are selected by the Director-General of UNESCO on the basis of recommendations made by an international independent Jury consisting of five experts.

The project/programme of the nominee are assessed by the Jury on the basis of the following criteria:

  • Transformation

The project/programme practices Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) as transformative education in support of sustainable development, , leading to individual and social change.

  • Integration

The project/programme addresses the three dimensions of sustainable development (society, economy, environment) in an integrated way.

  •  Innovation

The project/programme demonstrates an innovative approach to ESD, be it in the themes it covers, the methodology it employs, or the way the learning environment is designed.

The award ceremony would take place at UNESCO headquarters.

Past Winners

Laureates 2019

The winners of the 5th edition of the Prize were named on 15 October 2019.

  • the Camphill Community Trust (Botswana)
  • the Sustainable Amazon Foundation (Brazil)
  • the City of Hamburg (Germany)

Each of the three laureates received an award of US $50,000. The award ceremony took place at UNESCO Headquarters on 15 November, within the framework of the UNESCO General Conference.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
+ posts

Babajide is a content writer and site admin at Camberene. He majored in zoology and is also a tech enthusiast proficient in the use of python, R and other data analytics tools.

Babajide is looking into using machine learning and artificial intelligence in the near future.