Fully-funded Postgraduate Scholarship for Commonwealth Citizens in the Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Program 2020/2021


If you’re a citizen of any of the 54 commonwealth countries, apply now for a chance to pursue your postgraduate study without any financial worries in the  Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Program 2020/2021. 

Themed International collaboration, take advantage of this unique 2-years study opportunity to experience a new country and culture, learn how to be the change you want to see, and find lasting solutions to the challenges faced in your communities. 

If you’re awarded this scholarship, you get to study in a foreign country with additional perks like allowances and research grants. 

See below for details on eligibility, how to apply, deadline, and how to get selected. 

Application Deadline: July 9, 2020, 4:00 (UTC +1)

Oh mine! The ship for this opportunity has sailed... catch this one and other ships when they come around.

Where Should I Send Your Daily Opportunities?

Open the Table of Content Below

Click to see section

One opportunity can change your life, career, and income for good, forever!

Where Should I Send Your Daily Opportunities?


Successful applicants of the scholarship award will receive:

  • Fully-funded tuition fees for a period of 2 years
  • Stipend for living expenses for the entirety of the scholarship period
  • Cost of Economy flight to their host country is covered
  • An arrival allowance
  • Research support grant – Based only on request and consequently, approval
  • Access to a global network of like-minded academics  
  • Opportunity to experience a whole new world


To qualify for this opportunity:

  • Only citizens (or people of asylum status) in the Commonwealth country listed below are welcome to apply:
  • Botswana
  • Cameroon
  • The Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Kenya
  • Kingdom of eSwatini
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • South Africa
  • Uganda
  • United Republic of Tanzania
  • Zambia
  • Bangladesh
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • India
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Pakistan
  • Singapore
  • Sri Lanka
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bahamas, The
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Canada
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • Saint Lucia
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Vincent and The Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Cyprus
  • Malta
  • United Kingdom
  • Australia
  • Fiji
  • Kiribati
  • Nauru
  • New Zealand
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu
  • Applicants must apply for a Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship award in a country other than their home country/country of citizenship
  • Applicants must already hold a degree with an equivalent of a 2:1 at the time of application.
  • Applicants of any age are eligible for a QECS Award
  • Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship awards are only available to new students and cannot be used to fund an ongoing course.

Free Worksheet and Checklist

Here at Camberene, we go the extra mile to make sure you win. So we have designed a beautiful checklist to help you keep track of your progress and make sure you’re doing things correctly.

It’s 100% FREE

Hit the download button to get it in your inbox ASAP.

Application Instructions

To apply for the scholarship award, ensure that:

  • A  copy of your final transcript and degree certificate is attached to your application form.
  • You enclose a personal statement. It should be clearly written such that the aims of your research and how they will be implemented will be understood by anyone who reads it
  • Your reasons for applying to the institution and course should be clearly stated on the application form. Each answers must be unique to each institutions – your application will not be considered if you plagiarise texts from websites or replicate your answers for all institutions 
  • You meet the selection criteria and requirements for your chosen university course, including having the necessary work experience
  • You provide references and identify 2 referees (Your references  should be detailed and be specific to the contents required on the application form) 
  • You include full details about marks/grades held for particular degrees. Applicants are urged to ensure that full supporting documentation is attached to the application, in the form of an official transcript.

You’re required to read the FAQ’s and the application guidance when completing your application.

With all requirements satisfied, apply for the scholarship award to any of  the countries through the links below:

  • Sri Lanka 

Apply here 

  • South Africa

Apply here

  • South Pacific

Apply here

  • Papua New guinea

Apply here

  • Namibia

Apply here

Please note that there are 2 distance learning awards available. Apply for any through the links below: 

University of South Africa 

Fiji National University 

About the Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship Program

The Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship is a unique study initiative for a 2-years Master’s degree in low or middle-income country of the Commonwealth.

Coordinated by the Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU), the scholarship is targeted at students of commonwealth countries descent whose acts are geared towards creating change in their communities. 

Titled International collaboration, the program seeks to use unique international educational experiences to give scholars an insight into the impact of shared experiences (in their home and foreign countries), and to put this advantage into practical use. 

It’s believed through cultural exchange and academic collaboration, the beneficiaries of the scholarships would use this life-changing opportunity to broaden their horizons, and have means to turn around the problems faced by their communities. 

The QECS awards 2020/2021 edition is hosted by:

  • Sri Lanka
  • South Africa
  • South Pacific 
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Namibia

Key Dates and Order of Program

Due to the current state of affairs regarding Covid-19, selected candidates will be advised to travel once travel bans  are lifted and universities are open and accepting international students

The deadline for submission of applications is the  9th of July, 2020 4:00 (UTC +1)

  • The selection committee reviews and assesses application entries using four key criteria:

    • Academic history/references
    • Plan of Study
    • Development Impact and Post Study Outreach
    • Creating Networks
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Get it right the first attempt. Grab the checklist for this opportunity and others

Opt-out at any time. No strings attached.