Get the North-South Prize for Changemakers in the North-South Prize of the Council of Europe 2020

If you know anyone committed to promoting North-South solidarity, nominate them for the North-South Prize to get them the recognition they deserve and an award.

The North-South Prize of the Council of Europe will shine a light on successful nominees that have been distinguished and exceptional in certain areas.

Application Deadline: 15 September 2020

Open the Table of Content Below

Click to see section


The North-South Prize of the Council of Europe will be awarded to two nominees, one from the North and the other from the South while striking a gender balance.


Nomination for the Prize is open to 

  • Grass root activists and personalities
  • Organizations or institutions 

That are recognized for their commitment to the principles of the Prize. 


  • The Prize is awarded on a personal basis and not posthumously.
  • The Prize is honorifically commending the Prize winners’ achievements
  • Before the public announcement of the Prize, the winners must confirm their acceptance and availability to be present at the official award ceremony.
  • An Organisation or individual may submit nominations, and in particular, the following institutions and individuals are urged to do so:
    • Member States of the North-South Centre
    • Member States of the Council of Europe
    • Other North-South Centre stakeholders and partners
    • Former winners of the North-South Prize
    • International Organisations

Free Worksheet and Checklist

Here at Camberene, we go the extra mile to make sure you win. So we have designed a beautiful checklist to help you keep track of your progress and make sure you’re doing things correctly.

It’s 100% FREE

Hit the download button to get it in your inbox ASAP.

Application Instructions

To nominate a candidate, 

  • Entries should be addressed to the North-South Centre Secretariat, in English or French, providing the following information :
    • Identification of the nominee
    • Identification of the nominator
    • A detailed description of the nominee’s achievements 
    • Any other relevant supporting documents, including motivation letters when possible. 
  • Submit nominations here   

About the North-South Prize of the Council of Europe

Launched in 1995, the North-South Prize is awarded annually to two candidates who have stood out for their exceptional commitment to promoting North-South solidarity.

The candidates, preferably a man and a woman, must have distinguished themselves in the following areas: 

  • Protection of human rights
  • Defense of pluralist democracy
  • Public awareness-raising on issues of global interdependence and solidarity. 

Individuals chosen for the prize all share a strong commitment to the promotion of North-South partnership.

The Prize rewards their commitment to the defense and promotion of human rights, democracy and the rule of law as well as to the development of intercultural dialogue and the reinforcement of the North-South partnership and solidarity, in conformity with the principles and priorities of the Council of Europe.

The work of the North-South Centre develops around three priority areas:

  • Global Education
  • Youth Cooperation
  • Empowerment of Women

The North-South Centre is responsible for the ceremony’s organization and the public promotion of the Prize and its winners.

Discover more opportunities from the Council of Europe.

Key Dates and Order of Program

The submission of nominations will close by 15 September 2020. 

The meeting of the Jury and final decision by the Executive Committee will last Until 31 October.

The nominations received by the Secretariat will be submitted to the Jury.

Each member of the jury shall identify preferably two nominees, which must include one name from the North and one from the South.

Afterward, all the names shortlisted will be subject to a vote in which each member of the jury will select one possible nominee from the North and one from the South.

A nominee that gets more than 50% of the votes from the members of the jury present, will be selected by the jury as a Prize winner.

The Jury is presided by the Chair of the North-South Centre Executive Committee and is made up of members of the Bureau of the North-South Centre and a representative of the North-South Centre‘s host country.

During the first half of 2021, the Prize award ceremony will occur in Lisbon, with the President of the Portuguese Republic, and other important public officials in attendance. 

Previous Winners of the North-South Prize

2019 Laureates

  • Nabila Hamza- Sociologist, feminist activist, and expert specialized in gender issues, social development, and good governance.
  • Leoluca Orlando- Mayor of Palerme.

2018 Laureates

  • Jaha Mapenzi Dukureh- Founder and CEO of the Non-Governmental organization “Safe Hands for Girls”
  • Damien Carême- Former mayor of Grande-Synthe (France)
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
+ posts

Babajide is a content writer and site admin at Camberene. He majored in zoology and is also a tech enthusiast proficient in the use of python, R and other data analytics tools.

Babajide is looking into using machine learning and artificial intelligence in the near future.

Get it right the first attempt. Grab the checklist for this opportunity and others

Opt-out at any time. No strings attached.