Get up to €60,000 Award Prize for Academic Researchers in the Georg Forster Research Award 2020

For internationally recognised researchers from developing and transition countries in accordance with OECD, submit a nomination to win €60,000 award prize. 

Award winners will also get a research stay of up to 12 months in Germany. Many more benefits like individualized support, funding,  invitations to numerous events and the opportunity to attend language courses will be offered.

Application Deadline: 31 October, 2020.


Open the Table of Content Below

Click to see section


The associated benefits of participating in the program include:

  • An award prize of €60,000. 
  • Invitation to conduct a research project of the awardee’s choice at a research institution in Germany in cooperation with specialist colleagues there. 

The award enables a total stay of between six months and a full year, which can be split into multiple stays. 

  • In addition, if required, the organizers will provide further funding of up to €25,000 to finance academic collaboration – in particular to cover the costs of attending academic conferences, of material resources such as specialist literature or scientific equipment at the home institution, or of including junior researchers.
  • Support during  research stay
  • Sponsorship for alumni abroad


Eligible for nomination are Researchers 

  • Whose fundamental discoveries, new theories or findings have had a lasting effect on their discipline beyond their immediate research area and who will continue to contribute to developing research-based approaches to the specific challenges of developing and emerging countries. 
  • Whose academic achievement   are internationally recognized with evidenced success in research.
  • That have never received an award from the Humboldt Foundation for their academic work.
  • That are citizens of a developing or transition country (excluding PR China and India). 

The nominee must have lived and worked in one of these countries for at least five years at the time of nomination.

Click here to see list of countries. 


  • Nominations for a Georg Forster Research Award may be initiated by established researchers at research institutions in Germany. 
  • Humboldt Foundation award winners working abroad are also eligible to submit nominations jointly with a researcher working in Germany.
  • Nomination of qualified female researchers are particularly encouraged.
  • Self-nominations are not possible.
  • Nomination of close relatives or marital/registered partner is not acceptable.
  • Nominees and nominators must always abide by the rules of good scientific practice  and the principles of scientific ethics

Free Worksheet and Checklist

Here at Camberene, we go the extra mile to make sure you win. So we have designed a beautiful checklist to help you keep track of your progress and make sure you’re doing things correctly.

It’s 100% FREE

Hit the download button to get it in your inbox ASAP.

Application Instructions

About the Georg Forster Research Award

The Georg Forster Research Award is a prize for internationally recognised researchers from developing and  transition countries. 

The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation presents up to six Georg Forster Research Awards annually to internationally outstanding researchers from developing and transition countries in recognition of their academic record to date. 

Named after renowned German ethnologist Georg Forster (1754–1794), the initiative is funded by the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development.  

It is intended to support the long-term promotion of outstanding scientific multipliers in transition and developing countries whose research will contribute to improving living conditions in their countries of origin.

Discover more opportunities from the German Government.

Key Dates and Order of Program

The closing date for this year’s nomination round is 31 October 2020.

The award winner will be selected by the independent Selection Committee comprised of researchers of all disciplines who will meet in the summer of  2021 to make the selection. 

The Committee’s decision is based on

  • The independent peer reviews
  • The nominees’ academic qualifications, and
  • The significance of their research for the development of their home country.

Nominators will be notified of the selection decision immediately after the meeting.

See Members of the Committee for the Allocation of Alexander von Humboldt Foundation Research Awards  here. 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
+ posts

Babajide is a content writer and site admin at Camberene. He majored in zoology and is also a tech enthusiast proficient in the use of python, R and other data analytics tools.

Babajide is looking into using machine learning and artificial intelligence in the near future.

Get it right the first attempt. Grab the checklist for this opportunity and others

Opt-out at any time. No strings attached.